Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

SME Selected Six Distinguished Faculty Advisers for 2022

Yalcin M. Ertekin

Bahram Asiabanpour

Vishwas N. Bedekar

Nguyen P. "Wayne" Hung

Jerry Gintz

Hitesh D. Vora

SME has selected six Distinguished Faculty Advisers for 2022 in recognition of their service to the organization and their student chapters in advancing manufacturing knowledge, education and SME's mission of promoting manufacturing technology and developing a skilled workforce. Established in 2011, the award is presented to SME student chapter faculty advisers to recognize their continued oversight and engagement efforts in advocating for students and the manufacturing industry.

"These faculty advisers, all of whom are SME members, demonstrate the leadership that is needed to guide the next generation of manufacturing talent," said 2022 SME Member Council Chair Jennifer Fielding, Ph.D., Air Force Research Laboratory. "The commitment from each professor is imperative for the growth of the organization's student chapters."

SME student chapter faculty advisers utilize their expertise to integrate real-world manufacturing experiences into their classrooms, offer on-site research lab experience, sponsor attendance at industry conferences and co-author scientific papers published in peer-reviewed journals and professional conferences. This year's awardees include a cross-section of engineering professors from universities across the US.

2022 Distinguished Faculty Advisers:

  • Bahram Asiabanpour, Ph.D., CMfgE, Professor and Manufacturing Engineering Program Coordinator, Ingram School of Engineering, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX
  • Vishwas N. Bedekar, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Engineering Technology, Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, TN
  • Yalcin M. Ertekin, Ph.D., CMfgE, Clinical Professor, Department of Engineering Technology, Drexel University, PA
  • Jerry Gintz, Senior Lecturer, Honors Faculty, School of Manufacturing Systems and Networks, Arizona State University, Mesa, AZ
  • Nguyen P. "Wayne" Hung, Ph.D., Professor, Faculty Fellow, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
  • Hitesh D. Vora, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering Technology, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK.

Each faculty adviser receives a monetary award from SME to advance their professional development in the field, as well as a certificate of appreciation.

For more information contact:

SME Headquarters

One SME Drive

Dearborn, MI 48128


< back