Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

Control Designed for the Job Shop

Mazak Corporation's latest machine control, the MAZATROL SmoothEz CNC, was designed as a control that blends both simplicity and advanced functionality into one platform. The new control debuted on Mazak's new VC-Ez Series of vertical machining centers and QT-Ez Series of turning machines. The Ez Series was developed to help remove the cost barriers to acquiring the latest manufacturing technology without sacrificing machine capability or production performance.

The most prominent feature of the MAZATROL SmoothEz CNC is its 15" capacitive touchscreen display, which accommodates a full-width on-screen keyboard or up to 60 lines of code. The NC system operates on two 800 MHz CPUs with an expanded 512 MB of DDR3-SDRAM memory. In addition to its redesigned LAUNCHER screen, the control also has an expanded range of software features, including SMOOTH Machining Configuration, QUICK MAZATROL and MAZATROL TWINS that were recently debuted on Mazak's advanced MAZATROL SmoothAi CNC.

Like all Mazak controls, the MAZATROL SmoothEz CNC offers operators access to both EIA/ISO and MAZATROL conversational programming modes. In addition to standard G-codes, the control can use conversationally presented questions to gather the information necessary to automatically generate a part program. Enhanced MAZAROL features, including new end mill pecking cycles for point machining and support for more precise chamfering, further improve the programming mode's usability.

The user interface of the control has been redesigned for ease of use. New button designs and input modes, including the full-width keyboard, can be configured in a variety of ways to produce custom screens that match the layout with the operator's ergonomic needs. Screen graphics can be enlarged or reduced as needed by the operator. Plus, the wholly redesigned LAUNCHER screen takes advantage of the full 15" touchscreen to simplify navigation with large buttons that provide one touch navigation to any desired screen on the control.

The MAZATROL SmoothEz CNC also offers expanded functionality with options previously available only on the MAZATROL SmoothAi control. This includes QUICK MAZATROL, which displays a 3D model of a part as it is being created in real time to help users edit and confirm their programs, as well as full compatibility with MAZATROL TWINS and SMOOTH CAM Ai. Using these tools' Solid MAZATROL programming, Virtual Machining and Cutting Adviser functions reduce set-up time through efficient program creation and simulation.

Further contributing to the new control's ability to help shops improve program management is its compatibility with SMOOTH Project Manager. This software, which can be operated using commercial PCs in the front office and tablets at the machine, allows shops to easily manage CAD/CAM programs by bundling together programs, parameters, tool data and work offsets. The resulting project data can then be loaded on machines as a single package to reduce the time spent inputting data during machine set-up.

For more information contact:

Mazak Corporation

P.O. Box 970

Florence, KY 41022-0970

859-342-1700

www.mazakusa.com

Southwest

Chris Papke

Mazak SW Technology Center

10950 Greenbend Blvd.

Houston, TX 77667

281-931-7770

cpapke@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

LA

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101 / 800-462-9519

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

OK, AR

Butch Cumminsky

David James

Machinery Resources Inc.

5550 South 94th East Avenue

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-622-6495 / 800-448-1878

butch@mritul.com

www.mritul.com

N. TX

Chris Papke

Mazak Corporation

935 S. Kimball St., Ste. 151

Southlake, TX 76092

800-642-6110 / 817-329-6290

cpapke@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakcorp.com

W. TX

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines, Inc.

12025 Rojas Drive, Suite A

El Paso, TX 79936

915-856-7900

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

NM

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines, Inc.

8448 Washington Place NE

Albuquerque, NM 87113

505-345-8389

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

Southeast

Dave Kennedy

Mazak Southeast Technology Center

1075 Northbrook Pkwy

Suwanee, GA 30024

678-985-4800

dkennedy@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

TN

Dennis McCurry

Pinnacle Machine Tools, Inc.

5912 Toole Drive

Knoxville, TN 37919

865-951-0260

rick@machinetechcnc.com">mccurry@pinnaclemachine.net

AL, FL Panhandle

Jerry Edwards

Pinnacle Machine Tool Inc.

141 Nick Fitcheard Road

Huntsville, AL 35806

256-852-0900

edwards@pinnaclemachine.net

NC, VA

Rick Smith

MachineTech, Inc.

8100-J Arrowridge Blvd.

Charlotte, NC 28273

704-665-6301

rick@machinetechcnc.com

www.machinetechcnc.com

GA, SC

Tim Kramer

Premier Engineering Co.

1635 Lakes Pkwy. Ste. U

Lawrenceville, GA 30043-5858

678-442-8382

tim@premierengineering.com

www.premierengineering.com

MS

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

FL

Perry Leonor

Mazak Florida Technology Center

6895 McCoy Drive, Suite 100

Orlando, FL 60504

689-205-5626

pleonor@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

Northeast

New England, E. NY, NJ

Greg Kaufman

Mazak Northeast Technology Center

700 Old County Cir.

Windsor Locks, CT 06096

800-436-8900 / 860-292-4400

gkaufman@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

E. PA, MD, DE

Jeremy Trout

Mazak Mid Atlantic Office

1275 Glenlivet Drive

Allentown, PA 18106

800-436-8900

jtrout@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

W. NY

Bill Miller

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

7661 Seneca St. / PO Box 69

East Aurora, NY 14052

716-652-8282

bmiller@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

W. PA, N. WV

Bill Miller

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

3 Tara Drive / PO Box 220

Harmony, PA 16037

724-453-1690

bmiller@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

S. WV

Rick Smith

MachineTech, Inc.

8100-J Arrowridge Blvd.

Charlotte, NC 28273

704-665-6301

rick@machinetechcnc.com

www.machinetechcnc.com

Midwest

Kevin Bates

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

kbates@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

ND, SD, MN, W. WI

Joel Lundin

Tony Bailey

Northwest Machine Technologies, Inc.

20851 Commerce Blvd.

Rogers, MN 55374

763-493-3660

tbailey@nwmtec.com

www.nwmtec.com

NE, W. IA

Duane Ohlrich

Industrial Systems & Supply Inc.

2760 E. 29th Avenue

Columbus, NE 68601

402-564-4445

ohlrich@industrial-systems-supply.com

www.industrial-systems-supply.com

E. IA

Jeff Everett

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

jeverett@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

E. MO, S. IL

Bill Summers

Municipal Tool & Machinery Co.

2465 Rock Island Blvd.

Maryland Heights, MO 63043

314-994-9905

bsummers@municipaltool.com

www.municipaltool.com

KS, W. MO

Nick Shelton

Concept Machinery -

A Shelton Machinery Company

6319 W. 110th St.

Overland Park, KS 66211

913-387-4413

nshelton@conceptmachinery.com

www.conceptmachinery.com

E. WI

Mike Cekanor

Machinery Systems North

3280 Gateway Rd.

Brookfield, WI 53045

262-781-4850

mikec@machsys.com

www.machsys.com

N. IL, N.W. IN

Eric Hilliard

Machinery Systems Inc.

614 East State Parkway

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-882-8085

erich@machysys.com

www.machsys.com

E. MI

Steve Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

36055 Groesbeck Highway

Clinton Township, MI 48035

586-741-3000 / 800-ADDY-NOW

steve@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

W. MI

Peter Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

3757 Broadmoor Ave SE, Ste. A & B

Grand Rapids, MI 49512

800-AddyNOW

peter@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

S. OH

Greg Knox

Knox Machinery, Inc.

375 Industrial Drive

Franklin, OH 45005

937-743-2641

www.knoxmachinery.com

S. IN, KY

Nick Shelton

Shelton Machinery, Inc.

9900 North by Northeast Blvd.

Fisher, IN 46037

317-845-5588

nshelton@sheltonmachinery.com

www.sheltonmachinery.com

N. OH

Frank Gibbons

Numerequip

4810 Briar Road

Cleveland, OH 44135

216-265-0400

fgibbons@numerequip.com

www.numerequip.com

West

CO, E. WY

Randy Breitenbach

Action Machinery International

7790 S. Wheeling Ct. Unit A

Englewood, CO 80112

303-532-2900

randy@action-machinery.com

www.action-machinery.com

WA, OR

Mark Harris

CNC Machine Services, Inc.

7808 184th St. SE

Snohomish, WA 98296

425-788-4500

sales@cncmachineservice.com

www.cncmachineservice.com

N. ID

Dave Fisher

Dependable Machine

88 W Orchard Ave

Hayden, ID 83835

866-967-0146 / 208-714-4652

sales@dependablemachineryrepair.com

www.dmi-cnc.com

AZ, S. NV

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines

4848 S. 35th St.

Phoenix, AZ 85040

602-431-8300

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

UT, S. ID, MT, W. WY

Clark Smith

Smith Machinery Company

41 W. Guest Avenue

Salt Lake City, UT 84115

80l-263-6403

csmith@smithmachinetools.com

www.smithmachinetools.com

S. CA

Richard McCauley

Mazak West Regional Headquarters and

Aerospace Technology Center

1333 West 190th Street

Gardena, CA 90248

310-327-7172

rmccauley@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

N. CA

David Lindenmuth

Mazak San Francisco Sales

and Technical Center

47273 Fremont Blvd.

Fremont, CA 95035

408-941-2240

dlindenmuth@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

< back