Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

VMC Features 5-Axis Rotary/Tilt Table



Mazak has introduced its new VERTICAL CENTER UNIVERSAL 400-5X, a small-footprint vertical machining center (VMC) that features a 5-axis rotary/tilt table with durable, high-speed roller gear cam technology. According to the company, these feature will allow manufacturers to produce small complex parts, such as those for the aerospace industry, productively and profitably.

Featuring a CAT 40 taper 10,000 RPM spindle, the VCU 400-5X offers metal removal capabilities in common materials, including steel, aluminum and cast iron. Other maximum spindle speeds are available, such as 12,000 RPM and 20,000 RPM in 40 taper as well as 42,000 RPM in E40 (HSK), so users can match spindle performance with their part machining requirements.

The spindle chiller on the VCU 400-5X is designed to maintain a constant spindle temperature to prevent heat build up and improve machining accuracy. Other benefits of the chiller include extended spindle life, increased machining capacity and reduced maintenance costs.

A 20 tool standard storage capacity on the VCU 400-5X provides continuous machining operation, while an optional 30 tool magazine is available. To reduce non-cut times, the VCU 400-5X features a cam-driven automatic tool changer that quickly exchanges tools and gets the spindle back in the cut. Tool monitoring on the machine helps maximize production efficiency and lower operating costs via early problem detection.

Axes travels of 19.88" (505 mm) in X, 15.74" (400 mm) in Y and 17.12" (435 mm) in Z allow the machine to produce part sizes up to 15.74" x 15.74" x 9.84" (400 mm x 400 mm x 250 mm). The machine's three linear axes attain high-speed rapid traverse rates of 945 IPM (24 m/min).

The trunion-style rotary/tilt table on the VCU 400-5X is constructed with durable high-speed roller gear cam drive technology for high torsional rigidity and positioning accuracy. The table tilts +95°/-45° in the B-axis and rotates 360° in the C-axis and can accommodate workpiece weights up to 440 lbs.

"The machine also features Mazak's MX Hybrid Roller Guide System that enables it to deliver high levels of durability and reliability, resulting in long-term accuracy," said a company spokesperson. "The way system increases vibration dampening, extends tool life, handles higher load capacities and eliminates tramp oil in the coolant by utilizing a greener grease-based lubrication system."

Mazak equipped the VCU 400-5X with the MATRIX 2 CNC control specifically for optimized 5-axis machining. "The control incorporates both enhanced hardware and software functionalities that make it easy to use while also delivering high accuracy and increased productivity for the machine," said the spokesperson. "The control's hardware performance is much faster with higher processing speeds for small increment operation, and a 5-axis spline interpolation function included in the control's software provides smooth toolpaths from long block-by-block programs, easy tool vector control and shorter cycle times as well as enhanced 5-axis surface finishes."

The VCU 400-5X is part of the VERTICAL CENTER UNIVERSAL Series, which consists of the VCU 300, VCU 400 and VCU 500.

For more information contact:

Tasha Riddell

Mazak Corporation

P.O. Box 970

Florence, KY 41022-0970

859-342-1700

triddell@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

Southwest

Dana R. Scott

Mazak SW Technology Center

10950 Greenbend Blvd.

Houston, TX 77667

281-931-7770

dscott@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

LA

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101

800-462-9519

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

OK, AR

Butch Cumminsky

David James

Machinery Resources Inc.

5550 South 94th East Avenue

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-622-6495

800-448-1878

butch@mritul.com

www.mritul.com

N. TX

Bernie Lopez

InterTech, Inc.

2100 North Hwy. 360 #2103

Grand Prairie, TX 75050

972-647-0707

b.lopez@intertechmachines.com

El Paso, TX

Felipe Arvizo

Magnum Precision Machines Inc.

12025 Rojas Dr. Suite A

El Paso, TX 79936

915-856-7900

farvizo@magnumep.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

NM

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines, Inc.

8448 Washington Place NE

Albuquerque, NM 87113

505-345-8389

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

Southeast

Dave Kennedy

Mazak Southeast Technology Center

1075 Northbrook Parkway

Suwanee, GA 30024

678-985-4800

dkennedy@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

TN

Dennis McCurry

Pinnacle Machine Tools, Inc.

5912-A Toole Drive

Knoxville, TN 37919

865-951-0260

mccurry@pinnaclemachine.net

AL

Jerry Edwards

Pinnacle Machine Tool Inc.

141 Nick Fitcheard Road

Huntsville, AL 35806

256-852-0900

edwards@pinnaclemachine.net

SC, NC, VA

Rick Smith

MachineTech, Inc.

8100-J Arrowridge Blvd.

Charlotte, NC 28273

704-665-6301

rick@machinetechcnc.com

www.machinetechcnc.com

GA

Tim Kramer

Premier Engineering Co.

1635 Lakes Pkwy. Ste. U

Lawrenceville, GA 30043-5858

678-442-8382

tim@premierengineering.com

www.premierengineering.com

MS

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

FL

John Grabenau

Premier Machinery Inc.

990 Sunshine Lane

Altamonte Springs, FL 32714

407-786-2000

doc@premierequipment.com

www.premierequipment.com

Northeast

New England, E. NY, NJ

Steve Wilkins

Mazak Northeast Technology Center

700 Old County Cir.

Windsor Locks, CT 06096

800-436-8900 / 860-292-4400

SWilkins@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

E. PA, MD, DE

Jim Rutan

Mazak Mid Atlantic Office

1275 Glenlivet Drive

Allentown, PA 18106

jrutan@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

W. NY

Bill Miller

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

East Aurora, NY

716-652-8282

bmiller@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

W. PA

Russ Weis

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

3 Tara Drive

PO Box 220

Harmony, PA 16037

724-453-1690

rweis@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

Midwest

Kevin Bates

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

kbates@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

ND, SD, MN

Joel Lundin

Tony Bailey

Northwest Machine Technologies, Inc.

13025 George Weber Dr., Ste. 3

Rogers, MN 55374

763-493-3660

tbailey@nwmtec.com

www.nwmtec.com

NE, W. IA

Duane Ohlrich

Industrial Systems & Supply Inc.

2760 E. 29th Avenue

Columbus, NE 68601

402-564-4445

ohlrich@industrial-systems-supply.com

www.industrial-systems-supply.com

E. IA

Kevin Bates

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

kbates@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

MO, S. IL

Bill Summers

Municipal Tool & Machinery Co.

2465 Rock Island Blvd.

Maryland Heights, MO 63043

314-994-9905

bsummers@municipaltool.com

www.municipaltool.com

KS

Paul Domurat

Concept Technical Sales, Inc.

6240 W. 135th St.

Overland Park, KS 66223

913-647-5366

pdomurat@concepttechsales.com

www.concepttechsales.com

WI

Mike Cekanor

Machinery Systems North

3280 Gateway Rd.

Brookfield, WI 53045

262-781-4850

mikec@machsys.com

www.machsys.com

IL, N.W. IN

Ron Mager

Machinery Systems Inc.

614 East State Parkway

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-882-8085

ronm@machsys.com

www.machsys.com

E. MI

Peter Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

36055 Groesbeck Highway

Clinton Township, MI 48035

586-741-3000

800-ADDY-NOW

peter@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

W. MI

Peter Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

3757 Broadmoor Ave SE, Ste. A & B

Grand Rapids, MI 49512

800-AddyNOW

peter@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

S. OH

Greg Papke

Mazak Corp.

8025 Production Drive

Florence, KY 41042

859-342-1700

gpapke@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

IN, KY

Jim Shelton

Shelton Machinery, Inc.

9900 North by Northeast Blvd.

Fisher, IN 46037

317-845-5588

jshelton@sheltonmachinery.com

www.sheltonmachinery.com

N. OH

Frank Gibbons

Numerequip

4810 Briar Road

Cleveland, OH 44135

216-265-0400

fgibbons@numerequip.com

www.numerequip.com

West

CO, E. WY

Randy Breitenbach

Action Machinery International

4950 Oakland Street

Denver, CO 80239

303-532-2900

randy@action-machinery.com

www.action-machinery.com

WA, N. ID

Gary Anderegg

Machine Toolworks, Inc.

14600 Interurban Avenue South

Tukwila, WA 98168

206-575-3390

ganderegg@machinetoolworks.com

www.machinetoolworks.com

OR

Alex Madsen

Machine Toolworks, Inc.

27350 SW 95th Ave., Ste. 3032

Wilsonville, OR 97070

503-682-9030

amadsen@machinetoolworks.com

www.machinetoolworks.com

AZ

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines

3614 E. Southern Ave. #1

Phoenix, AZ 85040

602-431-8300

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

UT, S. ID, MT, W. WY

Clark Smith

Smith Machinery Company

41 W. Guest Avenue

Salt Lake City, UT 84115

80l-263-6403

csmith@smithmachinetools.com

www.smithmachinetools.com

S. CA

Richard McCauley

Mazak West Regional Headquarters and

Aerospace Technology Center

1333 West 190th Street

Gardena, CA 90248

310-327-7172

rmccauley@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

N. CA

David Lindenmuth

Mazak San Francisco Sales and

Technical Center

1497 N. Milpitas Blvd.

Milpitas, CA 95035

408-941-2240

dlindenmuth@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

< back

Email   email